2018 American Forage and Grasslands Council Awards

Congratulations to IFC members who competed in events at the recent American Forage and Grasslands Council annual conference!


Merit Award — Jason Tower

Spokesperson Contest — ​Dave Fischer, 3rd Place

Jason Tower, Dubois, received the Merit Award for his leadership as Superintendent of the Southern Indiana Purdue Agricultural Center and representation of the forage industry in his work with organizations such as the Indiana Forage Council and the Indiana Beef Cattle Association. Pictured (L to R): son Jake Tower (who received second place in Category 2 of the Essay Contest), wife Erin Tower, daughter Abby Tower, AFGC President Robert Shoemaker, Jason, and Miles Kuhn, who presented the award on behalf of the Indiana Forage Council.

"The Merit Award is presented to individuals who have made superior contributions in some phase of forage and grassland agriculture. Recipients have earned recognition among their colleagues for work and productivity in forage or grassland agriculture in research, teaching, Extension, production, or industrial development." ~AFGC

Dave Fischer, the Indiana Forage Council's Spokesperson, just before sharing his message about forage production and utilization on Fischer Farms. 

"The Forage Spokesperson Contest is one of the most popular and informative sessions at the annual AFGC Conference. Individual farmers are nominated by state affiliate councils to present at the national conference. Each producer is asked to develop a 15-minute presentation which gives an overview of their farming operation. Emphasis is typically place upon how forage management contributes to the overall farm objectives and marketing." ~AFGC

The Purdue University Forage Bowl Team placed second in the Forage Bowl Competition. Pictured (R to L) are Brooke Stefancik, Agronomy Graduate Student Coach, Linton; Riley Lewis, LaGrange; Jason Perkins, LaGrange; Sam Shaver, Crawfordsville; Madison Boston, Sullivan; and Keith Johnson, Faculty Coach. Lewis, Perkins, and Shaver study agricultural economics, and Boston studies agronomy. 

​Other teams competing were Penn State University, who won first place, Kansas State University, and University of Wisconsin-River Falls. 


Jake Tower's Second Place Essay