2020 Indiana forage council annual meeting

On February 27, the Council sponsored its annual meeting and seminar. Over 50 people attended the event at the Purdue University William H. Daniel Turfgrass Research and Diagnostic Center.

Click through the gallery!

2020 AFGC

American Forage & Grassland Conference

Pictured (left to right): Keith Johnson, Victor Shelton, Clay Nuhring, Rose Nuhring, Shelby Gruss, Jason Tower, Kaleigh Krieger, Rachel, Imel, LeAnna Shearer, Garret, Alka, and Byron Sleugh. Not pictured: Greg Downing

Many Indiana residents made their way to Greenville, South Carolina for the American Forage and Grassland Conference on January 5 – 8. 2020.

Forage Bowl Competition

Purdue University’s Forage Bowl Team competed at the 2020 American Forage and Grassland Conference’s Forage Bowl Competition in Greenville, South Carolina. Played like the game “Jeopardy,” the Purdue team squared off against five other collegiate teams. All four team members were students in Keith Johnson’s Forage Management class in the spring semester of 2019. The team thanks The Indiana Forage Council for the sponsorship of the student’s Purdue attire for the event.

Forage Spokesperson Competition

Pictured: Rose & Clay Nuhring

Clay Nuhring, a member of the Indiana Forage Council, from Batesville, IN represented the Indiana Forage Council in the Forage Spokesperson Competition. Participants in the Forage Spokesperson Competition tell their story about use of forages in their farming business.

Emerging Scientist Competition

Shelby Gruss, a Ph.D. student in the Purdue University Agronomy Department was the recipient of first place in the Emerging Scientist Competition at the 2020 American Forage and Grassland Conference. Under the direction of Dr. Mitch Tuinstra, her research investigates an experimental brown midrib sorghum-sudangrass that does not produce prussic acid. She utilized field harvests, drone imagery, and trail cameras to document the preference of sheep three sorghum-sudangrass hybrids and a sudangrass hybrid by sheep.

Video Competition

2019 was the first year for a video competition at the American Forage and Grassland Conference. Jason Tower, Indiana Forage Council Past President and just elected to a three year term as an Education Director for the American Forage and Grassland Council, submitted an entry.  Watch the Video!


2019 Indiana State Fair

Networking as We Work in the Indiana Beef Cattle Association’s Food Tent at the 2019 Indiana State Fair

Many of the officers and directors of the Indiana Forage Council come together for half a day at the Indiana State Fair to help the Indiana Beef Cattle Association with their food tent. Sandwiches are prepared and drinks are poured for paying customers. The Indiana Forage Council is pleased to help the Indiana Beef Cattle Association with this contribution of time. We love beef because they eat forage!

2019 Beef-Forage Tour

The Indiana Beef Cattle Association and the Indiana Forage Council teamed together and planned and conducted a Beef-Forage Management Tour on July 6 in Putnam County. The charter bus tour visited three diverse beef farms including Willer Timber Ridge Farm, J&K’s Birt Farm, and Hodgen Farms. Education centered on producing high quality beef cattle with forage, grain, and byproduct resources.  Approximately 45 people attended the tour.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2019 IFC Annual Meeting & Seminar

The 2019 Annual Meeting and Seminar was held in the Lusk Room at Turkey Run State Park on February 28. After business was conducted attendees enjoyed a meal that was followed by an award ceremony and a seminar.

Outstanding Producer Award

Receiving the award on behalf of the Feldun-Purdue Agricultural Center is Brad Shelton, Superintendent. The award was presented by President Jason Tower.

The Outstanding Producer Award recognizes a producer who excels in the production and utilization of forages on their farm. The 2019 award went to the Feldun-Purdue Agricultural Center.

Maurice E. Heath Award

Anna Morrow, program manager of the Midwest Cover Crops Council, receives the Maurice Heath Award from President Jason Tower.

The Maurice E. Heath Award was established upon Mr. Heath’s retirement from Purdue University. He was a strong advocate for soil conservation and forage research and education. The recipients of this award are recognized for their contributions to soil conservation and/or forage research and educational endeavors. Anna Morrow, a Director of the council, was the award recipient for her efforts in the layout and distribution of the quarterly newsletter.

Featured Speakers

Featured speakers at the seminar were Sara Creech and Jarred Brooke. Sara, owner of Blue Yonder Organic Farm, discussed how personal tragedy led to healing through farming and how working with nature led to restoration and hope. Her farm raises produce and pasture-raised meats.

Purdue University Wildlife Specialist, Jarred Brooke discussed common farmland wildlife, their habitat needs, and the steps forage producers can take to integrate wildlife into their farm businesses.

IFC Leadership Team

The IFC leadership team able to attend the conference (left to right): Miles Kuhn, Nick Minton, Jason Tower, Anna Morrow, Brooke Stefancik, Susannah Hinds, Andrew Brown, Keith Greiwe, Ryan Moore, Sam Stratton, Keith Johnson, Dave Friedersdorf, Steve Mikels. Not pictured: Miranda Edge