Recent Events

Forage Bowl Team Ready to Compete! (left to right): Purdue University students Leanna Shearer, Rachel Imel, Kaleigh Krieger, and Garret Alka.


Please note: In the future, newsletter availability will be a benefit reserved for IFC members. Join the Indiana Forage Council today to receive these information-packed newsletters!

Award Winners

Each year, the Indiana Forage Council recognizes exemplary members with the Outstanding Producer Award and the Maurice E. Heath Award.

The Outstanding Producer Award recognizes a producer who excels in the production and utilization of forages on his or her farm. Previously, this award has been known as the Recognition Award and the Dave and Helen Forgey Award.

Receiving the 2020 Outstanding Producer Award was Lemenager Cattle Company. Keith Johnson presented the award to Ron Lemenager. Lemenager Cattle Company, located in Tippecanoe County, uses best management forage practices on their beef cattle farm.

The Maurice E. Heath Award was established upon Mr. Heath’s retirement from Purdue University. He was a strong advocate for soil conservation and forage research and education. The recipients of this award are recognized for their contributions to soil conservation and/or forage research and educational endeavors.

Receiving the 2020 Maurice E. Heath Award (given for education and/or soil conservation contributions) was Nick Minton, a Director of the Council and Purdue University Beef Systems Specialist. Jason Tower, Past-President, introduced Nick. Nick has been an active educator at Grazing 102, and other Extension and organization hosted meetings and field days. He provides leadership to the Indiana Beef Evaluation Program.

Past Award Winners

%d bloggers like this: